Memorial Health Board Trustee receives statewide OHA Award


Dennis Stone
Memorial Health Board Trustee Dennis Stone has been awarded one of The Ohio Hospital Association’s (OHA) annual leadership awards, given to only three Ohio hospital officials.
Stone was announced as the 2020 recipient of the OHA Dr. Eli Crew Community Service Excellence Award.
The Eli Crew Community Service Excellence Award recognizes an individual’s or organization’s support of the health care industry. The award is named in honor of Dr. Eli R. Crew, former superintendent of Dayton’s Miami Valley Hospital and OHA’s first president. In 1914, he led Ohio hospital administrators to an organizational meeting at Cedar Point, Sandusky where OHA was founded.
Stone currently serves as vice-chairperson of the Memorial Health Board of Trustees. He joined the Memorial Health board in December of 2003 and has served as both Chair and Vice-Chair over his 17-year tenure. Through a set of circumstances, Stone has the distinction of being the organization’s longest standing board member in history.
After an extensive 42-year career at the Ohio Auto Club in Worthington, Stone retired in 2013 as the organization’s Executive Vice President. He has been a resident of Union County since 1977. Shortly after attending Lorain and Lakeland Community Colleges in Cleveland, Stone served in the U.S. Army from 1966-1968, including a tour in Vietnam.
Commenting on Stone’s honor, Chip Hubbs, Memorial CEO/President said “Through forward-thinking, fiercely independent leadership, Memorial Health has bucked national trends and established an impressive record of growth over the last two decades. Through his countless hours of service, Dennis guided key strategic decisions, placing the hospital in a position of strength, able to adapt to the changing health care needs of our community. These decisions have led to a combination of projects, partnerships, and added services to benefit the local patient community.”
“Dennis’ strategic vision and leadership was key in charting a successful path for Memorial which has resulted in a decade of amazing growth which continues today – including the opening of our Memorial Inpatient and Outpatient Pavilions,” Hubbs continued. “The entire Memorial Health organization extends our congratulations and appreciation to Dennis for winning this esteemed statewide honor.”
Also honored by the OHA this year were Tom Zenty, President and CEO of University Hospitals in Cleveland, who received the OHA Donald R. Newkirk Award and Barbara Hahl, CSC of Mount Carmel Health System in Columbus, who was bestowed the OHA’s James R. Castle Distinguished Service Award.
“Ohio hospitals are cornerstones of the communities they serve, caring for the sick and injured and advancing wellness,” said Mike Abrams, OHA president and CEO. “At a time when hospitals are assuming more comprehensive roles in providing health care services and programming in our communities, strong leaders are essential. We are proud to recognize Tom, Barbara and Dennis for their service and contributions to Ohio hospitals and health care.”
All of the recipients were honored during a virtual event.

...For the full story, select an option below.

Comments are closed.