Few surprises at filing deadline for November election


On Nov. 7, Union County voters will have a lot of choices to make.
Voters will decide council seats in Marysville, Milford Center, Magnetic Springs, Plain City, Richwood, Unionville Center and Dublin will be on the ballot, as will two seats on each township board of trustees and three seats on all local boards of education. Marysville’s law director seat will also be decided in November.
Many of the elections, including those for Marysville and Plain City councils, will be contested.
Additionally, a variety of local issues, including two countywide tax options, will be decided.
Tina LaRoche said that while November seems like it is far way, the timeline for elections is always moving.
“We will be very busy,” LaRoche said.
She said the board has already begun the process of preparing for the election.
“We actually started getting things ready yesterday,” LaRoche said Wednesday.
LaRoche said the board will verify petitions and make sure paperwork is correct.
“Once we get everything cleaned up, we will get the ballot ready,” LaRoche said.
Villages and Cities
Marysville City Council-at-Large Member: Hank Berbee, JR Rausch, Jermaine Ferguson, Donald Boerger, Mark Reams
Marysville City Law Director: Tim Aslaner
Village of Magnetic Springs Village Council: None filed
Village of Milford Center Village Council: Ron Payne, Derek Wilson, Donald Jones
Village of Plain City Village Council: Benjamen James Budd, Jody Lynn Carney, Blake Todd Haines, Sherry L. Heineman, Darren A. Lee, James W. Moore, Rochelle L. Pellegrene, Shannon L. Pine, Richard Steven Rice, Roberta Benner Scott, Barry Joe Thomas
Village of Richwood Village Council: Von Beal, George Showalter, Jack Moore, Patrick Morse
Village of Unionville Center Village Council: Mary Morris, Theresa Weese, Ann Lenhard
School Districts
Fairbanks Local School District Board of Education: Dave Huber, Brian Phelps, Derek Nicol, Tim Belmonte, Angie Bouic
Jonathan Alder Local School District Board of Education: Mary Jo Boyd, Shannon R. Foust
Marysville Exempted Village School District Board of Education: Dick Smith, Brian Luke, Nan Savidge
North Union Local School District Board of Education: Brian Davis, Jean Wedding, Sharon Jenkins-Bugg, Dennis Hall.
Allen Township Trustee: Jack Rausch, Ronald Chapman
Allen Township Fiscal Officer: Tom Brower, Lori Lacella, Gary Wallace
Claibourne Township Trustee: Joseph Wiley, Rodney Goddard
Darby Township Trustee: Roger Davenport, Dennis Blumenshein
Darby Township Fiscal Officer: Connie Priday
Dover Township Trustee: Barry Moffett, Dan Westlake
Jackson Township Trustee: Charles Ehret, Donald Wasserbeck
Jerome Township Trustee: Joe Craft, CJ Lovejoy, Andy Diamond
Leesburg Township Trustee: Jeff Robinson, William Lowe
Liberty Township Trustee: Karen Johnson, Marshall McCoy
Millcreek Township Trustee: Keith Conroy, Bill Jordan
Paris Township Trustee: Dave Cook, Steve Westlake, Christa Miller
Taylor Township Trustee: Dennis Schertzer, Beth Marshall, Lucas Braun
Union Township Trustee: Dwight Robert Thompson, Richard “Dick” Brake, Josh Combs
Washington Township Trustee: Randy Sullivan, Ron Jones
York Township Trustee: Bruce Davis, Judy Christian
All of Union County will vote on a 10-year, 0.5-mills renewal and 0.3 –mills increase for the Mental Health and Recovery Board as well as the renewal of the 0.25 percent sales tax which is split evenly between senior services and the county road and bridge fund.
Voters in Leesburg, Millcreek and Paris townships will be voting on fire, EMS and police protection levies. Leesburg Township is seeking to renew a five year, 4-mills levy for fire and EMS while Paris Township is seeking to renew a 5.9 mills, three year fire and police levy. Millcreek Township voters will decide on the three-year replacement of a 4.8-mills fire and EMS levy.
York and Union township voters will decide the fate of cemetery levies, a 0.5-mills replacement and a 1.5-mills renewal respectively.
The Richwood/North Union Library is asking for a five year, 1-mill replacement levy.
Marysville voters will decide on a series of charter amendments including, salary of city council for all elected officials, a timeframe for the city manager to report the state of the city, giving the city manager authority to create departments and divisions, and adding a third member of the city’s board of control.
Local liquor options will be decided in Marysville Ward 7, Windsong Chinese, Liberty Township Precinct 2, for Dalton Union Winery, and Jerome Township Precinct 2 for the Wild Ginger Bistro.
Board officials also wanted to remind people to register to vote if they haven’t already. The deadline to register to vote in the November election is 9 p.m., Oct. 10. LaRoche said the board office would stay open until 9 p.m. that day to give as many potential voters a last-minute opportunity to register.
Early voting begins the next day, Oct. 11, at the board office.
LaRoche reminded candidates, perspective candidates and voters that her office is there to help. Those wanting more information are invited to come to the office — 835 E. Fifth St., Suite A, Marysville — or call the office at (937) 642-2836.

...For the full story, select an option below.



Comments are closed.