Monarch wrestlers fall to Coffman during D-I regional duals finals


Marysville’s Joseph Palmer (left) has a single-leg on Nathan Robinson from Delaware Hayes on Saturday. Action came during the 220-pound regional semifinal match. The Monarchs beat the Pacers and then fell to Dublin Coffman during the finals of the Division I regional duals. (Journal-Tribune photo by Kevin Behrens)

Marysville played host to the Ohio High School Athletic Association regional qualifier for the state duals wrestling tournament on Saturday.
 The Monarchs have advanced to the championship match every year since the tournament started in 2013. This year was no different as the local squad reached the finals by taking care of Mifflin and Olentangy Berlin in workman-like fashion during the first two rounds.
They respectively won those matches 64-6 and 61-12.
Those victories put the Monarchs in the semifinals against Delaware Hayes.
The Pacers are a familiar foe and won the first encounter between the two teams to start the season. 
With revenge on his mind, Monarch head coach Shawn Andrews made the needed changes as Marysville rallied to win a sea-saw battle against the Pacers, 37-28. 
“When we wrestled them the first time all our guys weren’t down to weight, “Andrews said, “Brady Seger at 138 and Erryl Will at 160 were both able to get key wins that we didn’t have before.”
After taking care of the Pacers, the Monarchs advanced to the championship match against Dublin Coffman, which beat Marysville in January, 56-19.
The Shamrocks picked up where they left off a month ago and cruised to a 52-9 victory to take the 2020 regional dual meet crown.
The Shamrocks will move on to the Ohio State University’s St. John Arena against the other seven regional champs to wrestle for the dual meet state championship.
That competition will be held next Sunday, Feb 16.
As far as the Monarchs, “We will turn our attention to The All -North Tournament next week where we will get to wrestle more central Ohio guys as we prepare for the end of the season,” said Andrews.
Match results for the championship bout against Dublin Coffman were as follows:
-106: Rahul Raghuram (DC) dec. Zach Pfarr (M) 4-0;
-113: Corey Crawford (DC) pinned Ethan Skiles (M), 1:48;
-120: Rupert Moore (DC) dec. Lincoln Witt (M) 7-0;
-126: Davante Cooper (DC) dec. Nathan Thompson (M) 8-3;
-132: James Baumann (DC) pinned Joshua Melms (M) 5:06;
-138: Erik Arndt (DC) dec. Brady Seger (M) 10-5;
-145: Niko Gonzalez (DC) dec. Lincoln Heard (M) 2-1;
-152: Erryl Will (M) defeated Cam Callahan (DC), 16-7 major decision;
-160: Mitchell Broskie (DC) beat Colton Powers (M), 8-0 major decision;
-170: Leo Alvarez (DC) pinned Garret Seger (M), 3:30;
-182: Nick Copley (DC) pinned Ben Bickerstaff (M), 53 seconds;
-195: Seth Shumate (DC) pinned Parker Reese (M), 54 seconds;
-220: Riley Ucker (DC) dec. Joseph Palmer (M), 10-5;
-285: Zach McMinn (M) beat Dillon Halter (DC), 17-2 technical fall.

...For the full story, select an option below.

Comments are closed.