Young golfers compete at Blues Creek Course


Logan Bocsy putts in his ball at the first hole of Blues Creek Golf Course during Thursday’s second round of the Union County Junior Golf Academy-Tour. (Journal-Tribune photo by Sam Dillon)

Ting was the sound of a golf ball being struck by a driver. Then came another ting as the first group of four golfers launched their first ball down the fairway of the first hole at Blues Creek Golf Course.
The sounds came Thursday during the second event of the six-event Union County Junior Golf Academy-Tour.
Young golfers from around the county competed in five different age categories to test their link skills against others and the competition was in full swing.
Logan Bocsy finished tied for the lead with Travis Brake in the Tour Boys 18-hole bracket with a 79.
The remaining Tour boys scores were as follows:
-AJ Fischer-85;
-Seth Payne-90;
-Justin DeHoff-96;
-Caden Fulkerson-104;
-Noah Rausch-106;
-Andy Higinbotham-113;
-Wes McHenry-115;
-Zach Riegel-121;
-Egan O’Hara- 24;
-Grant Hamm-129
-Aiden O’Hara-133.
The field of ladies in the Tour girls 18-hole event was slim as only two golfers competed. Rylee Cavens led the charge with a 110, while Samantha Zaborowski finished with a 121.
In the Tour girls nine-hole tourney, the field of competition was deeper with 10 participants. The top four spots all contended the best score, with Mary Weisburn’s 54 leading the way.
The remaining field scores were as follows:
-Olivia Ishmael-58;
-Carly Lehman-58;
-Cassady VanDyke-58;
-Payton Price-60;
-Gabby Vamos-60;
-Veronique Grand-64;
-Shelby Jones-72;
-Caitlyn Johnson-84;
-Reese Cordonnier-86.
In the Academy boys 9-hole category, two golfers led the pack. Jonathon Cusack and Madden Ungerer each scored a 53 for the day.
The remaining Academy boys scores were as follows:
-Aiden Grome-55;
-Jackson Burns-61;
-Andy Agner-64;
-Will Mason-66;
-Finn Edie-71;
-Isaac Banks-71;
-Tristan Tague-74;
-Jared Larriuz-74.
The final and youngest group of the day was the Premier group of those 7-9 years of age. They participated by playing nine holes.
The following participants were Jorja Ary, Berkley Behrens, Brady Cordonnier, Aiden Hafner, Jackson Hafner, Cayden Larriuz, Lalan Maynard, Mason Rausch, Grady Wisecup and Brady Adams.


...For the full story, select an option below.



Comments are closed.